« THE MAGIC OF THE PANGALANES CANAL »

ANTSIRABE – FIANARANTSOA – MIZILO – MANAKARA – MANANJARY – NOSY VARIKA – MAHANORO – ANDASIBE – ANTANANARIVO

This tour “the magic of the Pangalanes Canal” enables you to discover the beauty of the Highlands, the South East and the Eastern coast of the big Island. You will have the opportunity to visit national parks (with lush forest, fascinating and endemic fauna and flora, the “Indri” the largest lemur in Madagascar…) The train journey will bring you into another universe and will be an exceptional day. The crossing of the Pangalanes Canal with its mini cruise enables you to meet the local people and discover their lifestyle and culture. It is also the signature of the Eastern Coast.

09 days - 08 nights

810 €

per person

Price based on 4 people

Departure from Antananarivo to reach Antsirabe. On the road, through rolling hills the plains and ricefields form a mosaic of colours like a giant patchwork. Stop at Ambatolampy for a visit to an aluminium salvaging and transforming workshop where kitchen utensils and pans are made. Arrival at Antsirabe, lunch in your harge. In the afternoon, a visit to the spa passing by various workshops (miniature, embroidery, cutting of semi-precious stones and horn), the Independence Avenue, the railway station… Installation in a hotel for bed and breakfast.

Departure to Fianarantsoa, the Betsileo capital city or the old city. Passage to Ambositra, the capital of crafts. A visit to a sculpture and marquetry workshop. With a small income but a lot of skill and ingenuity the craftsman can make up artistic works. Lunch at your expense. After the visit, continuation to Fianarantsoa. Arrival and installation in a hotel.

Depending on train availability, departing every Tuesday and Saturday
Early departure by the “small train of the cliffs” connecting the eastern coastal plain and the central Highlands. The railway line was built from the rails that were confiscated from the Germans in Alsace at the time of their defeat in the First World War. The route, in an area with very rugged terrain, in the middle of lush vegetation, crosses lively villages. The passage of the train in each station is always a folk event with the fruit, doughnut and frying sellers who clump around the train as it enters the station. Descent from the train and car transfer to Manakara. Arrival in the late evening. Bed and breakfast in a hotel.

Drive to Mananjary, the twins’town. Arrival and installation for a night in a bed and breakfast hotel.

Boarding the boat at about 07:00. The Canal offers sceneries of daily life in symbiosis with a natural environment populated by legends and beliefs. After the passage of Andragnazavaka Bay and the visit to the village of Ampandomana, lunch aboard the boat. Continuation up to Mahela to see the “anchor of Jean LABORDE” a trusted man and architect of Queen Ranavalona 1st (reign from 1828 to 1861). Arrival at Ambohitsara. Discovery of the “white elephant”, an enigmatic statue that depicts an elephant rather than a wild boar. The trunk is clearly marked as well as the broken tusks. Legend has it that Raminia brought it back from Mecca. Continuation up to Nosy Varika, meeting with the “bush boats” and the fishermen’s canoes. Arrival in the early evening, installation on full board in BIVOUAC.
Accommodation: BIVOUAC

The journey continues. Lush vegetation: the Pangalanes Canal is bordered with bamboo forest, palm trees, ferns, pandanus, raffia, elephant ears, allamanda, aquatic plants and the comet, a rare orchid species from Madagascar. Passage to Lagnampotsy Bay, picnic break around noon in a place overlooking the Bay. Continuation of navigation. A short stop at Ampangalana, a little village nestled on the banks of the Canal. The fishermen’s canoes pass by us in this green network of lakes and lagoons that form the famous Canal. One of the highlights of that last day of navigation is the passage of the mouth of the Mangoro River with its strong currents that contrast with the calm of the Canal. Progress to Mahanoro via the small feeder canal. We will reach the town of Mahanoro in the early evening. Disembark at the river port around 5:30 p.m. Night with bed and breakfast in a hotel.

Departure for Andasibe. On the road, you can enjoy seeing the typical vegetation of the East (“Ravinala” or “the traveller’s tree”, fern…) and the Betsimisaraka tombs. Passing at Vatomandry then arrival at Andasibe. Installation for a night in a bed and breakfast hotel.

Morning devoted to a guided tour in the National park of Andasibe.There you can see the Indri, the biggest lemur of Madagascar. Apart from the Indri and its famous vocal song, ten other varieties of lemurs, orchids, tree ferns, lichens, many birds and other species of fauna and flora make up a Royal nature here. After the visit, lunch in your charge. Drive back to Antananarivo along the national road 2. Crossing Moramanga, a historical town where the national uprising for the Independence of the country began in 1947. Arrival in Antananarivo. Installation for bed and breakfast in a hotel.

Possibility of buying souvenir items at the local handicraft market. Day Use at the hotel then transfer to the airport for the flight to your country.

Representation in Europe

Mr RAHARINOSY
22, rue du Pré d’Elle, 38240 Meylan – FRANCE
+ 33 4 76 90 25 52
[email protected]

Madagascar

Holidays Madagascar
6, rue Stéfani Ambatonakanga, 101 Antananarivo – MADAGASCAR
+261 34 22 228 53 | +261 34 22 228 55
[email protected]

«HORS DES SENTIERS BATTUS, LE PETIT TRAIN DES FALAISES DE L’EST ET LA MAGIE DU CANAL DES PANGALANES»

ANTSIRABE – FIANARANTSOA – MIZILO – MANAKARA – MANANJARY – NOSY VARIKA – MAHANORO – ANDASIBE – ANTANANARIVO

Le circuit « Hors des sentiers battus, la petit train des falaises de l’Est et la magie du canal des Pangalanes » vous permet de découvrir les merveilles des hautes terres, la partie Sud Est et Est de la grande île. Vous allez visiter des parcs nationaux (forêt luxuriante, faunes et flore fascinante et endémique, les « Indri » le plus grand lémurien à Madagascar …). Le trajet en train vous emmènera dans un autre univers et sera une journée exceptionnelle. Vous aurez aussi l’occasion de faire des rencontres avec la population et découvrir leur mode de vie ainsi que ses cultures au long de la mini croisière sur le canal des Pangalanes qui est aussi la signature de la côte Est.

09 jours et 08 nuits

810 €

par personne

Tarif sur base de 4 personnes

Départ d’Antananarivo pour rejoindre Antsirabe ou la ville d’eau. Sur la route, à travers des collines onduleuses, les plaines et les rizières qui forment une mosaïque de couleur tel un patchwork pour géant. A Ambatolampy, arrêt visite d’un atelier de récupération et de transformation de l’aluminium en divers ustensiles de cuisines et de marmites. Arrivée à Antsirabe, déjeuner à votre charge. Après-midi réservé à la visite de la ville d’eau en passant par les divers ateliers (miniature, broderie, taillerie de pierres semi-précieuses et corne), l’avenue de l’indépendance, la gare…Installation à l’hôtel pour la nuit avec petit déjeuner.

Cap vers le Sud pour rejoindre Fianarantsoa, la capitale Betsileo ou la vieille ville. Passage à Ambositra, capitale de l’artisanat. Visite d’atelier de sculpture et de marqueterie. Avec peu de moyen et beaucoup d’habileté et d’ingéniosité l’artisan nous façonne des œuvres d’arts. Après la visite, continuation vers Fianarantsoa. Installation à l’hôtel pour la nuit avec petit déjeuner.

Sous réserve de l’effectivité du service tous les Mardis et Samedis
Départ par « le petit train des falaises » reliant les hautes terres centrales et la plaine côtière de l’Est. La ligne de chemin de fer a été construite à partir des rails qui ont été confisqués aux Allemands en Alsace lors de leur défaite de la première guerre mondiale. Le tracé, dans une région au relief très accidenté, au milieu d’une végétation luxuriante, traverse des villages animés. Le passage du train dans chaque gare est toujours un évènement folklorique avec les marchands de fruits, de beignets et de fritures qui s’agglutinent autour du train à son entrée en gare. Arrivée à la gare de Manakara vers le début de la soirée. Nuit avec petit déjeuner à l’hôtel.

En route pour rejoindre Mananjary, la ville des jumeaux. Installation pour une nuit avec petit déjeuner à l’hôtel.

Embarquement à bord du bateau vers 07h00. Le Canal offre des paysages de la vie quotidienne en symbiose avec un environnement naturel peuplé de légendes et de croyances. Après le passage de la Baie d’Andragnazavaka et la visite du village d’Ampandomana. Déjeuner sur le bateau. Continuation jusqu’à Mahela pour voir l’ « ancre de Jean LABORDE » homme de confiance et architecte de la reine Ranavalona 1ere (règne de 1828 à 1861). Arrivée à Ambohitsara. Découverte de « l’éléphant blanc », statue énigmatique qui représente plutôt un éléphant qu’un sanglier. La trompe est nettement marquée, ainsi que les défenses cassées. La légende veut que Raminia l’ait rapporté de La Mecque. Toujours en bateau jusqu’à Nosy Varika, au gré de la croisière, rencontre avec les « bateaux-brousse », et les pirogues. Arrivée vers le début de la soirée, installation en BIVOUAC pour la nuit en pension complète.
Hébergement : BIVOUAC

Après le petit déjeuner matinal, le parcours se poursuit. Les végétations luxuriantes : forêts de bambous, palmiers, fougères, pandanus, raphia, oreilles d’éléphant, allamanda, les plantes aquatiques et la comète, espèce d’orchidée rare de Madagascar bordent le Canal des Pangalanes. Passage de la baie de Lagnampotsy, déjeuner en cours du trajet. Continuation de la navigation. Une petite halte à Ampangalana, petit village blottis sur les rives du canal. Les pirogues de pêcheurs nous croisent dans ce réseau verdoyant de lacs et lagunes qui forment le fameux Canal. Le passage de l’embouchure du fleuve Mangoro avec ses forts courants qui tranchent avec le calme du canal constitue l’un des points forts de ce dernier jour de navigation. Progression vers Mahanoro par le petit canal d’amenée. Nous atteindrons la ville de Mahanoro en début de soirée. Débarquement au port fluvial vers 19h30. Nuit avec petit déjeuner à l’hôtel.

Départ pour rejoindre Andasibe. En cours de route vous pouvez voir la végétation typique de l’est (Ravinala ou « arbre du voyageur », fougère…) et les tombeaux betsimisaraka. Passage à Vatomandry. Arrivée à Andasibe, installation à l’hôtel pour la nuit avec petit déjeuner.

Matinée consacrée à la visite guidée du parc Andasibe. Le parc abrite l’Indri, le plus grand lémurien de Madagascar. A part l’indri indri et son célèbre chant vocal, on y dénombre dans le parc 10 autres variétés de lémuriens, orchidées, fougères arborescentes, lichens, de nombreux oiseaux, et d’autres espèces du monde végétal et animal font que la nature ici est royale. Après la visite, déjeuner à votre charge. Remontée de la nationale 2 pour rejoindre Antananarivo. Passage à Moramanga, ville historique où commença l’insurrection nationale pour l’indépendance du pays en 1947. Arrivée sur place, installation à l’hôtel pour la nuit avec petit déjeuner.

C’est déjà le retour de ce beau séjour. A la prochaine!

Représentation en Europe

Monsieur RAHARINOSY
22, rue du Pré d’Elle, 38240 Meylan – FRANCE
+ 33 4 76 90 25 52
[email protected]

Madagascar

Holidays Madagascar
6, rue Stéfani Ambatonakanga, 101 Antananarivo – MADAGASCAR
+261 34 22 228 53 | +261 34 22 228 55
[email protected]